On The Stairs

When the last light of the night
Trickles down your pensive face
And in the pregnant quiet
Your eyes gaze at the road ahead
As we sit on the stairs
In a time lost in space
I listen to your silence
With your hand in mine
And wait.

I wait, till I could remember every line
Every little line on your face
I wait, till I could remember every rise
And fall of your eyelashes
And I wait, till I could remember the melody
Of every frenzied beat in your heart
As you hold your hand in mine
As you lock your eyes in mine
And smile.

And I crumble
Under the serene lightness of your smile
And I melt
From the glowing warmth in your eyes
And there lies a sweetness in the air
Between your heart and mine
And a little sadness
Between your heart and mine
And love.

In your every touch, your love rushes through me
And builds into a crescendo, that gladdens
And terrifies me
Like a billion stars in the pitch black sky
Your love blossoms, like the first day of Spring
And sparkles, like the golden sea at dusk
As I hold you close when the night falls
As you hold me tight when the sky falls
And kiss.

And we melt
In that moment between what has been and will be
When time is frozen for you and me
And we melt into the night, and into the silent sea
In that moment between what has been and will be
We build our castle of sand by the sea
In that moment between what has been and will be
We stand between our castle and the raging sea
And dream.

please leave a reply