Goodbye

Behind curtains ablaze with summer’s dying fire
I picture her solemn sigh for an unending spring
Her lips like dew parting from a lovestruck leaf
Part, and whisper to the souls of summers gone
For hopes that fade before our eyes could blink
Or the hearts could flutter in frenzy obscene
The summer is dying still, the light is failing still
My love, I am leaving still.

The smell of wistful sea in a land sunk in misery
A spell of insanity or the sign for sweet release?
He waits beyond my window in gallant torment
For a glimpse to the dream under sunsets lively
And I kneel for hope to souls of summers gone
And weep to the walls as the shadows grow long
If I leave the curtains still, if I hold my sorrows still
My love, won’t you linger still?

Published by

Dipankar

Read a bit. Write a bit. That's about it.

please leave a reply

